I recently asked some people if they would have any questions regarding MPD. What would you say if you met someone with this condition, and didn’t know much at all about it? Well! Here are some questions I shall answser!

Mark T. “Can you tell when your personalities switch?” Why yes, Mark, we certainly can. In fact, often times we can choose if we want to switch, and even with who. Sometimes a personality with cause a switch, or a situation will. When this happens, you definitely can feel it too. Fighting it just hurts and usually doesn’t work.

Jeremy S. “Can you remember where you go when it’s not you, and do you have specific memories for each personality?” Hm, often times we forget where we’ve gone and what we did when it’s someone else out. Usually if we remember, it’s like a vague dreamlike memory, and specific memories? Yes. Usually this happens though when it seems unimportant to either the other personalities, or the one who has it. Also, you forget specifics. Like, “Oh, I talked to Mary Beth yesterday about science.” What exactly was said? I don’t know. Usually the one who was out for this conversation remembers it much more clearly. There’s also triggers. Sometimes a person is out and they’ll be doing something or talking about something and then remember their memory. It can be very shocking, and strange. How would you feel if you just remembered you had sex with a friend and you didn’t know you chose to?

Jeremy S. “Does it ever get in the way of personal relationships?” Great question. You see, we all have our likes and dislikes, this goes for anyone. You meet someone and they seem interesting, or you meet someone else and they annoy the hell out of you. This is just like that. One of my personalities was sexually attracted to someone, and when he tried to pursue that relationship while another personality was out, it didn’t go over well. Not just that though, but with friendships and potential romantic partners. Many of my relationships have gotten cut off and destroyed because a personality did not approve. Now, I may discuss this further, because there are ways to help this dilemma.

Bethany A. “It sounds kind of scary. But I guess you get used to it?” Imagine you got diagnosed with I don’t know, say, diabetes. It’s manageable, but you have to live with it forever. At first you’re a little shocked, or angry, or scared, but yes. You get used to it. Over time, it becomes second nature, like breathing. It becomes so apart of you, because it is a part of you.

If anyone has any questions, feel free to ask, and I’d gladly answer them to the best of my ability. I may not have an answer right away, but I’ll do my best to find one.

